Thank you for looking for burning permit information. The below map is linked to the MN DNR's website and is current as of the date on the map.
This is the same map the fire department uses daily to determine if we can write permits or allow open burning.
Please use extreme caution when burning brush piles, monitoring at ALL times and making sure you have a plan for "if" a hot ember lands behind you and unknowingly starts open area grass on fire. Essentials are a phone to call 911 if needed, rake and or scoop shovel to stomp out short crawling fires, a charged garden hose and friends!
Burning permits for areas that we protect are available at our Station 1 weekdays, or evenings/weekends by request (contact us form). Burning permits are also available over the counter at Urbans Hardware in Isanti.
Did you know...
- Per State fire code, a minimum setback of 25 feet is required for the installation of any fire pit. Please comply to this and monitor ALL outdoor open flame fires at all times.
- In MN, there are 3,200 volunteer Fire Wardens available to issue free of charge burning permits.
- The DNR now offers an online annual burning permit available for a fee of $5.00. The permit must be printed and activated prior to each burn, other pertinent details apply. Click the link below for more information.
- Our Fire District's DNR Central Region Office is located at 800 Oak Savanna Lane in Cambridge.
Also good to know...
Minnesota Statute 88.16 subd. 2; STARTING AND REPORTING FIRES.
Subdivision 1. Written permission required. Except as provided in subdivision 2, and
section 88.17, it shall be unlawful to start or have any open fire without the written permission of
the commissioner, a forest officer, or an authorized fire warden.
Subd. 2. Exceptions. No permit is required for the following fires:
(a) A fire started when the ground is snow-covered.
(b) A campfire.
(c) A fire contained in a charcoal grill, camp stove, or other device designed for the purpose
of cooking or heating.
(d) A fire to burn dried vegetative materials and other materials allowed by Minnesota
statutes or official state rules and regulations in a burner of a design which has been approved by
the commissioner and with which there is no combustible material within five feet of the base
of the burner and is in use only between the hours of 6:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. of the following
day, when the ground is not snow-covered.
Subd. 3. Report of fire; penalty. The occupant of any property upon which any unauthorized
fire is burning, whether the fire was started by the occupant or otherwise, shall promptly report
the fire to the nearest forestry office, fire department, or other proper authority. Failure to make
this report shall be a misdemeanor and the occupant of the premises shall be deemed prima facie
guilty of negligence if the unreported fire spreads from the property or causes damage, loss, or
injury to another person, that person's property, or the state.
History: (4031-22) 1925 c 407 s 22; 1967 c 146 s 12; 1969 c 410 s 1; 1978 c 735 s 3;
1986 c 444; 1993 c 328 s 24